Male Body Image pressure to be Captain America


This guy Captain America is 6’2 240 all muscle but the actor Chris Evans is 6’0 200 and it took him a lot of hard work to get that muscular. As a child I was a natural scrawny child at 7 years old 4’0 and 50 pounds and I was almost 8. My parents gave me Flintstones vitamins and it gave me an incredible appetite and I started gaining 12 pounds a year and at 11 I was 4’9 at 104. The nurse said I had the potential to be overweight even though I was a normal weight. Fast forward to when I am 13 and 124 pounds this after doing a lot of exercise and eating just 2-3 times a day. I just never had that cut, ripped physique that is seen as ultra masculine. Being a black American male makes it even worse because I see my brother and cousins with ultra lean bodies and I’m the oldest the comparisons drove me crazy. To make matters worse I had gynecomastia since I was about 9 or 10 years old. People talked shxt about me all through childhood and many times my weight was healthy but I looked stocky. After the shame of adolescence I started feeling myself at 14 and 15 because I got to 5’7 and stayed at 150-160 pounds. I was pretty strong and could do 9 1/2 pullups in one motion. Once I got 16, I started job hunting and relaxed my exercise routine and went up to 180 rather quickly and my growth stalled at 5’7.5-5’8. The years went by and at 17 and 18 my weight went up to 190 and 200 respectively. Still I was unaware of weight gain until my uncle reminded me of it. At 19 I stayed at 205 and later went up to 220 and stayed there. Finally at 20 years old I weighed myself and I was 229! The scale said even for a large framed individual I was 52 pounds overweight, meaning obese. I quickly decided to live a healthier lifestyle and lost 33 pounds in 3-4 months. My weight stayed at 196 so i became a vegetarian and stopped eating highly processed foods and sodium rich foods and my weight went down 30 more pounds in 3 months. Today I’m 5’8.5 and weigh around 165 pounds my chest is pretty flat and I resemble a normal guy, could I be more ripped? Of course but for now regular exercise and diet will do. be happy with yourself but if you’re serious then make the change.

Leave a Reply

